Little Eva’s Sweet Cake Bread


unnamed-3The other night I made Little Eva’s Sweet Cake Bread from The Gasparilla Cookbook (page 240). It was easy to make and delicious to eat. I baked it for our first Marketplace committee meeting of the year. The cake was halfway eaten once I arrived home, which is good for me because I can’t eat an entire cake. However, it’s the perfect recipe for your next social gathering.

With sweet cinnamon and butter as ingredients you can’t go wrong, right?! Plus, since Fall and football season is almost back into swing, this is a great recipe for entertaining. If you like this recipe and want to see more, you can purchase your own copy of the cookbook from The Junior League of Tampa website.

Little Eva’s Sweet Cake Bread:

  • 4 cups of flour
  • 4 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 1 cup of butter
  • 3 cups of sugar
  • 4 eggs, separated
  • 1 cup of milk
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  • Cinnamon, butter, sugar

Sift flour once, measure, then sift twice more with baking powder. Cream butter and sugar. Beat egg yolks, add to sugar mixture, then add milk and flour. Beat egg whites stiff, fold in. Add vanilla. Bake at 350 for 40 to 45 minutes. Before the cake is done, spread with cinnamon, butter and sugar.

I hope you enjoy this recipe. I thought it was pretty easy and yummy. What’s your favorite cookbook or recipe to make?

Leave a comment