Chocolate Drop Oatmeal Cookies


Chocolate Drop Oatmeal Cookies – Gasparilla Cookbook pg. 272

1/2 cup shortening

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 1/2 cups uncooked oatmeal

1/2  cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

3/4  cup all purpose flour

This recipe was pretty straight forward and easy to follow. I substituted butter for shortening because I like the flavoring of it better. I started by combining the flour, baking soda and salt in a bowl. I then creamed the butter, granulated  sugar and brown sugar in a separate bowl. I added the egg and vanilla to the butter mixture until it was well incorporated.

I then added the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients. Lastly, I added the oatmeal and chocolate chips. I used a cookie scooper to scoop out the dough and placed the cookies on a parchment lined baking sheet. I baked them at a 350 degree oven for 10 minutes.

They were a hit with everyone who tried them. This is a great quick recipe to have on hand when you are craving something sweet. I will definitely be making these again!

  

    
    
   
 

Leave a Reply

