Uncategorized

Easy, homemade cannolis!


Ever since I tried cannoli for the first time as a child on a family trip to New York, I’ve been addicted to the delicious little Sicilian treats. If cannolis appear on a dessert menu anywhere, you better believe I will order them. For some inexplicable reason, however, the thought to make my own cannoli never crossed my mind. That is, until, I stumbled across a seemingly simple recipe in JLT’s Capture the Coast cookbook. I gave the recipe a whirl one Sunday to serve at family dinner, and received as much praise in one evening as I had my entire life combined.

Here is how this delightful pastry came together.

Ingredients:

32 oz soft whole milk ricotta cheese

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1 cup confectioner’s sugar, sifted

½ teaspoon cinnamon

1 cup pecans, finely chopped

1 cup miniature chocolate chips, divided

12 cannoli shells, or 24 mini cannoli shells

Combine ricotta cheese, vanilla, confectioners’ sugar and cinnamon in a mixing bowl and stir until incorporated. Add in the chopped pecans and ¼ cup of chocolate chips. Chill for at least 2 hours in refrigerator.

canoli1

Place the filling in a pastry bag (or, if you’re like me and have never owned a pastry bag, in a plastic bag with the corner snipped off). Pipe the filling into the cannoli shells. Place the remaining chocolate chips in a bowl and dip the ends of each cannoli into the chocolate chips to coat, if desired.

canoli2

Buon Appetito!

Leave a Reply

