Dessert · Every Day Feasts

Quick and Easy: One Bowl Pound Cake


Alex, of our cookbook committee, tried a new recipe for an event she was assigned dessert. It didn’t work out exactly as planned from the start, but was so easy to fix that she got great reviews! Thank you for sharing, Alex!

I was looking for a nice and simple dessert option. The One Bowl Pound Cake from Everyday Feasts sounded simple enough seeing as it says “one bowl” in the title of the recipe.

Most, if not all, of the ingredients are items that everyone keeps in the cabinet so there may not be any special trips to the grocery store. The Bundt pan I used was a stone pan. I placed all my ingredients in my one bowl and mixed everything together. The recipe says you can use vanilla or lemon yogurt and I opted to use vanilla in my recipe. I greased the pan very well and then poured the mixed ingredients into the pan and then into the oven. When trying out a new recipe, I always set the time to the lower end of the suggested time. The pound cake was done at 60 minutes, however, the recipe does not suggest how long to let the cake cool before trying to remove from the pan. I have to admit that I had to make this twice because I did not pay attention to the time the cake was out of the oven before trying to remove so it did not come out of the pan very well. On the second go around, I let the cake cool for 15 minutes while sitting on a cooling rack. I then let the cake sit flipped over on the cooling rake for a few hours. I then used a spatula to gently slide down the sides of the pan to loosen from the sides so that it would come out of the pan. Success! Overall, the cake got great reviews!

 

One Bowl Pound Cake

2 ½ cups of flour

2 cups of sugar

½ teaspoon baking soda

¼ teaspoon salt

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened

1 (8-ounce) container lemon or vanilla yogurt

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

4 eggs

IMG_0771

Preheat the over to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a 10-inch Bundt cake pan. Combine the flour, sugar, baking soda, salt, butter, yogurt, vanilla, and eggs in a large mixing bowl and beat at low speed until blended. Beat at medium speed for 3 minutes. Pour into the prepared pan. Bake 60-70 minutes or until golden brown and a wooden pick inserted near the center comes out clean.

IMG_0782

One thought on “Quick and Easy: One Bowl Pound Cake

Leave a Reply

