Bacon and Swiss Tarts…. did someone say BACON?


Jane, from our cookbook committee, tried a new appetizer from our Culinary Collection!

I chose a simple recipe from Savor the Seasons to try for the first time. Bacon and Swiss Tarts sounded like the perfect savory treat for us. There are few ingredients and it isn’t the kind of recipe that keeps you in the kitchen forever.

I gathered all of my ingredients, chopped my tomatoes and mixed up the filling for my tarts. After that, I greased my mini muffin pan and started placing the biscuit dough in each hole. The recipe was perfect to fit into all of the 36 of the muffin spaces on my baking pan. Because the biscuits will rise when baking, be careful not to overfill your tarts. I had a few that were over filled and they turned out a little lopsided. The baking time of the recipe was spot on with my oven and, as you can see in the pictures, they are colorful on the plate to serve. They would make a great brunch recipe, as well as, a starter for your meal.

My husband and I really enjoyed these. I am a southern girl, so I love anything with biscuit dough! If you want to try these at home here is the recipe. Enjoy!

Bacon and Swiss Tarts

1 (10-count) can flaky biscuits

8 slices bacon, crisp-cooked and crumbled

1 Roma tomato, seeded and chopped

½ small onion, chopped

3 ounces Swiss cheese, shredded

½ cup mayonnaise

1 teaspoon basil

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Cut each biscuit into thirds and press into greased miniature muffin cups. Combine the bacon, tomatoes, onion, Swiss cheese, mayonnaise and basil in a bowl and mix well. Spoon the mixture into the prepared muffin cups. Do not overfill. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until golden brown.

20140302_113911

Leave a Reply

