Golden Amaretto Cake with Fresh Strawberries


By Jessica Burns

We were heading to a cookout recently and I was responsible for bringing dessert.  It’s always fun to cook with seasonal ingredients, so with strawberries in season I was looking for a recipe that was simple, yet flavorful.  The Golden Amaretto Cake with Fresh Strawberries from Capture the Coast fit the bill. It was so incredibly easy that I felt guilty receiving all of the compliments at the party!

The ingredients were simple and I had the majority of them in my pantry, which is always nice when baking for an event.  At the store, I purchased 1 package of yellow cake mix, 1 package of vanilla instant pudding mix and fresh strawberries.  The other ingredients were pretty standard for a cake: vegetable oil, 4 eggs, almond extract, amaretto (I used Disarrono), confectioners’ sugar, and granulated sugar.

This recipe was so easy! Preheat the oven to 350 degrees; beat the cake mix, oil, eggs, pudding mix, water, and almond extract.

Grease and flour a bundt pan, which is where I had a small problem.  I tend to over-grease and flour, so when the cake was finished baking I had a bit more flour on the exterior.

Once the cake was finished, I poked six holes in the cake and poured a mixture of confectioners’ sugar and amaretto all over the cake.  It took a couple of hours for it to completely soak in and cool. While the cake was cooling, I washed and cut up the strawberries, sprinkled them with the granulated sugar and stuck them in the fridge.  

When the cake was cool, I flipped the cake over on a platter and prepared the glaze, which was also confectioners’ sugar and amaretto. 

I drizzled the mixture over the top of the cake and that was it, the recipe was complete.  Like I said, I totally over-greased and floured the pan, so the cake was less pretty than I would have liked it. 

I actually made two cakes so my husband could taste it before the actual party.  He absolutely loved it! We were heading to the cookout the next day, so I was going to make another batch of strawberries in the morning so they’d still have a crunch to them.  My husband loved the cake so much, he ate it the night I made it, for breakfast the next morning, and then at the cookout (so that way he still had his own at home).  That was a couple of weeks ago, and he has already requested the cake again.   I’d say it was a hit! We’re going to have to watch our waistlines cooking from the Capture the Coast cookbook.  Enjoy!

Golden Amaretto Cake with Fresh Strawberries (Capture the Coast p. 99)

1 (2-layer) package yellow cake mix

1 (6-ounce) package vanilla instant pudding  mix

1/2 cup vegetable oil

4 eggs

3/4 cup water

1/4 teaspoon almond extract

12 tablespoons amaretto, divided

2 cups confectioners’ sugar, divided

16 ounces strawberries, thinly sliced

1 tablespoon granuated sugar

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Beat the cake mix, pudding mix, oil, eggs, water amd almond extract in a mixing bowl until smooth. Pour into a lightly greased and floured bundt pan. Bake for 45 to 50 minutes or until the cake springs back when lightly touched. Mix 6 tablespoons of the amaretto and1 cup of the confectioners’ sugar in a bowl. Pierce several holes in the warm cake with a fork or skewer. Pour the amaretto mixture over the cake, allowing to absorb evenly. Cool in the pan for 2 hours or longer. Invert onto a cake plate.

Mix the remaining amaretto and confectioners’ sugar in a bowl. Drizzle over the top of the cake, allowing the glaze to run down the side. Toss the strawberries with the granulated sugar in a bowl. Let stand for 20 to 30 minutes before serving. Cut the cake into slices and top with the strawberries. The cake may be baked in small bundt pans for individual servings. Yield: 12 servings

One thought on “Golden Amaretto Cake with Fresh Strawberries

Leave a Reply

