Holiday Raspberry Cookies


By Juno Paramadevan

I opened up the invite for my friends’ Annual Girls’ Holiday Cookie Exchange and nervously thought about what kind of cookie to make this year. My girlfriends are all great bakers and the cookies keep getting more impressive every year we do this exchange so I knew I needed to make something extra special.

Usually I look up various recipes online and pick the most interesting one (hoping for the best!) but this year since I had purchased all the cookbooks in The Junior League of Tampa’s collection I decided to pour through them to find the perfect recipe. I knew it would be a safer bet than searching online since they have all been well-tested and I have never had a Junior League dessert I didn’t like!

I finally found one that looked really delicious yet easy to make in Savor the Seasons, which of course is the best in the collection for holiday recipes! Holiday Raspberry Cookies seemed like a classic recipe that I had all the ingredients for in my kitchen except for the raspberry preserves. They came out wonderfully and tasted fantastic! The best part was that I experimented with some different fillings including Nutella and peanut butter and they still tasted great! I would highly recommend trying some of your favorite spreads or any variety of preserves like strawberry or apricot. Happy Baking!

Holiday Raspberry Cookies (Savor the Seasons, p. 116)

  • 2 cups (4 sticks) margarine, softened
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 5 cups unsifted all-purpose flour
  • 1 egg white, beaten
  • Raspberry preserves
  • Confectioners’ sugar

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Cream the margarine in a mixing bowl. Beat in the granulated sugar until light and fluffy. Add the egg, egg yolk and vanilla and beat until blended. Sift the flour into the mixture and mix well. Roll or pat the dough on a floured work surface. Cut with a cookie cutter and place on a baking sheet. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes or until golden brown. Let cool on the pan for 5 minutes. Remove to a wire rack to cool completely. Spread preserves over half the cookies. Top with the remaining cookies. Sprinkle with confectioners’ sugar. Yield: 4 dozen cookies

Leave a Reply

