Capture the Coast · Drinks · Florida · Florida Strawberry Festival · Junior League of Tampa · Party Beverage · Party Drink · recipe · Recipes · Sangria · Sangria Recipe · Strawberry

Strawberry-Citrus Sangria


By: Kathryn Zahn

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Do you remember the Kool-aid pitcher from years ago? You know, the one that was frosted and looked as if someone had drawn a smiley face on it? That was our juice pitcher when I was a child. So imagine my surprise at age eight when I reached into the refrigerator to pull out this giant pitcher of red juice, poured myself a glass, and took a big gulp only to realize that this was definitely not the fruit punch I was expecting. My best friend’s mother had used our Kool-aid pitcher for sangria and she thought that my reaction was hysterical. Needless to say, my first experience tasting sangria was not a good one.

As I am now years older and wiser, I have caught on to the lure of the delicious flavors of sangria and it has officially become my adult beverage of choice. I was delighted to find Strawberry-Citrus Sangria on page 32 of the new Junior League of Tampa cookbook Capture the Coast. My next door neighbor and I immediately made ourselves a pitcher and found it to be so delicious that I served it just a few weeks later at a baby shower for fellow Junior League member Karen Nalywajko… Yum!

Strawberry season has officially begun and fresh oranges can be found here year round. This refreshing beverage is the perfect complement to a bridal or baby shower, dinner with family and friends, or a relaxing afternoon sitting by the pool or watching a game of golf. I have also found this beverage to be perfect for entertaining our Northern relatives. It doesn’t get much better than sitting outside in 70 degree weather and drinking a tall glass of sangria. Enjoy…and Bon Appetit!

Strawberry-Citrus Sangria Recipe

  • 1 orange, sliced
  • 1 lemon, sliced
  • 1 (750-milliliter) bottle pinot noir
  • 3/4 cup sugar, or more to taste
  • 3/4 cup orange liqueur
  • 1 pint of strawberries, thickly sliced
  • 6 ounces soda water, chilled

Place the orange and lemon slices in a pitcher. Add the wine and sugar and mix well. Add the liqueur and mix well. Add the strawberries. Chill for 3 to 10 hours. Add the soda water before serving. Serve over ice in glasses.

4 thoughts on “Strawberry-Citrus Sangria

    1. Not that we know of, but that sounds like a great idea, and it should work well. The citrus would certainly pair well, and the strawberries would likely bleed some juice to give it a pale pink color. Pinot grigio is not as fruity as pinot noir, so the sangria might be a little drier. If you try it, please let us know.

Leave a Reply

