Bacon & Swiss Tarts


Blogger Cindy Valdez shows us why everyone loves bacon, particularly in the form of these tempting tarts.

If you’re looking for the perfect savory appetizer, look no further:  the Bacon & Swiss Tart from Savor the Seasons is just the ticket!

Using only a handful of ingredients, you can whip up some tasty, bite-sized finger foods that your guests will love.

What you’ll need:

1 (10-count) can flaky biscuits

8 slices bacon, crisp-cooked and crumbled

1 Roma tomato, seeded and chopped

½ small onion, chopped

3 oz Swiss cheese, shredded

½ c. mayonnaise

1 tsp basil

Preheat your oven to 350.  Cut each biscuit into thirds and press into greased miniature muffin cups.  Combine the bacon, tomato, onion, Swiss cheese, mayonnaise and basil in a bowl; mix well.  Spoon the mixture into the prepared muffin cups.  Do not overfill.  Bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until golden brown.

Rather than making these in true bite-sized fashion and cutting the biscuits into thirds, I only cut them in half – because I have mommy brain and tend to be forgetful, especially when I’m in the grocery store.  If it’s not on my list, it’s not coming home with me.  And when I went shopping for the items in this recipe, “mini muffin cups” didn’t make it on the list.  So instead, I cut the biscuits in half and stuffed them into my greased full-sized muffin tin.

I also neglected to write down “mayonnaise” on my list so I used Miracle Whip (which I prefer, but it has a little bit of a different flavor than plain mayo but I don’t think it altered the flavor of the finished dish).

Pre-baking; you’ll notice some are larger than others – I didn’t cut all of the biscuits in half because I didn’t have enough slots on my muffin tin, so I left some whole.

There was some of the bacon/tomato/cheese mix leftover after filling (probably because I didn’t have 30 biscuits, I only had 12); should you find yourself in a similar situation, save the leftovers and mix in some chopped or shredded cooked chicken and some slivered almonds for a really, really great chicken salad.

Anyway, I made these for my family to go along with a much sweeter breakfast-for-dinner meal and everyone gobbled them up.  These would make excellent hors d’oeuvres for just about any type of gathering – football parties, holiday parties, potlucks – since they travel really well (even in a Ziploc bag!) and taste just as good after a quick trip through the microwave.

Or you could make larger versions (the half-size or full-size versions) to enjoy as part of a meal like we did!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

