Full-Fat Dairy: Gooey Butter Cake


Of course, we all try to eat healthy, but every now and again a little splurge is ok. When you’re ready to take a detour from your diet, check out this decadent dessert from A Taste of Tampa. JLT blogger Cindy Valdez whipped it up recently and here’s what she had to say. By the way, you’ll probably want to share this with friends, neighbors, or anyone who will help save you from eating it all!

I have to admit, when I first read the list of ingredients for this recipe, I got an upset stomach.  And then I got a toothache.  And then I looked at my calendar to be sure I had time for an extra trip to the gym this weekend.

Because holy calories…

(and FYI, there are 4 eggs in the recipe, I just got a little eager and forgot to put them in the photo)

You’ll need:

1 box yellow cake mix

1 lb powdered sugar

4 eggs

1 8 oz package cream cheese

1 stick butter

Not wanting to alter the recipe in any way, I used full fat cream cheese and full fat unsalted butter, because 1) I’m pretty sure when this recipe was written, full-fat dairy products weren’t yet considered enemies and 2) I knew that I could use that first excuse and actually get away with it.

Mix together the cake mix, the butter and 2 of the eggs using an electric mixer of some kind (or skip the gym and mix it with a spoon).  The batter (which ultimately becomes a crust of sorts) has the consistency of a ridiculously sticky dough – I sprayed PAM cooking spray on my spatula to spread this into the baking dish (also sprayed with PAM Baking Spray), which made an otherwise messy job much easier.

The recipe specifically states that the “batter will be thick.”  Yeah…that’s an understatement.

Then mix the cream cheese, powdered sugar and remaining two eggs together.  The top layer of this cake was pourable, but still needed to be spread out a bit once you put it over the batter.

Pop it into your preheated oven at 350 degrees for about 35 minutes – I had to bake it for 40 minutes to achieve the browned edges.  Just keep an eye on it for the last 5 minutes or so and add/deduct time as needed.

I fully expected my house to fill with all kinds of good cakey smells while this was baking, but I got nothin’.  I mean, with three kids, two dogs and a cat, it’s a wonder I ever smell anything other than feet, but still…I was hopeful.

Anyway, despite the lack of smelly goodness, this is what it looked like when it came out of the oven:

Putting this cake together was super easy.  It took very little time (about 15 minutes, minus cooking time) and very little effort.  Seriously?  My two-year old could put this together, it’s that easy.

But there is a hard part.

You have to wait.  Like, for a really long time.   More than an hour.

Seriously.  You have to or it’ll end up all custardy and mushy.

So just do it (even though it should be illegal for the chef to have to wait).

Find something to do to stay busy.  Like google “gooey butter cake variations” and see how many different recipes you can find (6,580).  There’s a pumpkin version and a double chocolate version, both by Paula Deen, that I’ll be giving a try when the holidays roll around.

And this is why:

tell me you’re not drooling

It was  In. Sane.

Very sweet, but very, VERY good.  Worth every extra minute I’m going to have to spend on the treadmill this weekend.

Make sure you have a tall glass of milk nearby (preferably skim).

Or you could do what all good Southerners do and just cut the sweetness with some vanilla ice cream.

2 thoughts on “Full-Fat Dairy: Gooey Butter Cake

  1. Full Sheets says:

    You really make it seem really easy together with your presentation but I to find this matter to be actually something which I believe I’d never understand. It seems too complex and very vast for me. I’m having a look forward in your subsequent post, I’ll attempt to get the grasp of it!

Leave a Reply

